Beauty: Pamper Your Skin with Your Mother—Last Minute Mother’s Day Gift Ideas

 

Mothers-Day-2004

Mother’s Day is approaching so fast. I always have mix feelings about Mother’s Day since my mom is so far away — she’s on the other side of the world in Taiwan, and I’m usually here in New York – I rarely get to spend mother’s day with my mom. Even though I call her and talk to her regularly, deep down I still feel sad that I’m this far from her and I don’t get to spend the day with her.

My mom never expects any gifts on Mother’s Day (and I’m sure most moms do the same), besides some flowers and a nice card, I still want to buy her something nice that not only she would like, but she would actually use, too (and I’m sure most sons and daughters feels the same). This year, I thought I’d get her something we both would like, so we can use it the same products everyday and share our experiences over the phone, even if we don’t get to see each other that often. Products that are good for both me and my mama, isn’t that just a great idea general?

Here are some of the products I’ve tested and tried recently, some of them have slowly become my new favorites. Since these products are targeted for customers of all ages, they are perfect for both mothers and daughters to use… and actually, all these products are gender neutral, they are great for sons to try with their mothers too.

1). Dr. Perricone MD Nutritive Cleanser

 

Pericone

I know oil-based cleanser is all the rage right now, from Josie Moran to L’Oreal, every brand is coming out with new oil cleansers. I tried a few different ones, they are definitely delicate and nourishing, but I still prefer cleansers that foam up and have a lot of bubbles so I feel squeaky clean. The trade off though is that sometimes these foaming cleansers can be a little harsh for the skin. I started using this Perricone MD Nutritive Cleanser a while ago and I am totally in love with it. This cleanser feels super gentle, it cleans the face efficiently and doesn’t strip off the natural moisture from my face and leaves my face unhappily dry. Sometimes I don’t even take off my makeup and just use this cleanser directly, it never leaves a trace of makeup on my face, one step wonder, ain’t that pretty awesome? This will be a perfect cleanser for both you and all the moms’ gentle skin!! It has a soft powdery scent to it, too!

2). Avene Soothing Moisture Mask

 

 

original_CW

I hate to admit, I want my skin to be perfect and beautiful, but I’m too lazy to do the work most of the time, and I’m not even a mom yet — Imagine being a busy mom and still needs to take care of your daily skincare regiment. This is a great mask for anyone who’s lazily fabulous like me, just apply a thick layer on the face for 15 minutes, it’ll rehydrate the skin and make it look like you just got an expensive facial – best part of it all? Just wipe it off when time is up, no need to wash it off!

3). Nuxe Body Contouring Oil for Infiltrated Cellulite

NUXE_BODY_Huile_Minceur_Cellulite_Infiltree_Body_Contouring_Oil_for_Infiltrated_Cellulite_100ml_1365677296.png

Damn cellulites!!! Nobody likes them yet everyone has it. It is not really “curable” but there are definitely some products that can help minimize the appearance of cellulites. I recently started to use this oil and give myself a mini massage after shower everyday. The oil is absorbed quickly into the skin and doesn’t leave any residue, it makes my skin very supple and soft. When the skin is so fine, who’s looking at the cellulite?

4). African Botanics Marula Oil

African-Botanics-Pure-Marula-Oil-Box

Remember the face oil obsession I have? Yeah, it’s still going on, and now the obsession has been extended to body oil! Marula oil is one of the precious oils that’s getting a lot of press these days. The African Marula Oil is one of the best-known brands of them all, and the quality lives up to its reputation, too. This oil is so rich and nourishing, but it is so refined it feels light and not greasy at all. If the face oil trend is not the thing for you and your mother, try this body oil, it’ll make your mother’s skin baby soft again.

5). Repechage Biolight Brightening Skin

11151-biolight-1

As we’re all making sure we use the best products for our faces, sometimes we forget that our body needs some attention, too. Most body creams don’t brighten, but that doesn’t mean the skin on our body don’t get dull and lose the radiance. Repêchage Biolight Brightening Body Corrector Cream does just exactly we’re looking for. Seaweed, willow bark, gotu kola and bellis treat hyperpigmentation on the body and hands. You and your mama can have beautiful skin together from head to toe.

Mother’s Day gives us a good excuse to buy all mothers some fancy gifts, but I think papering your mama should be a year-round thing, not just on this special day. Try out some of these beauty and skincare products with your mom, there should be no generation gap and age difference when it comes to pampering your skin, don’t you think?

MjAxMi0xYjQ4Yjc2NzdiMmQ2M2Yw

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers in the world!!

 

Xo,

Alicia