Beauty: Bring on the Water – Waterproof Makeup that will Stay Put No Matter What

 ft_bc1468377ca21b3888299c6d47eadf5e

It’s that time of the year again – we finally started to have a couple days of real summer weather, Labor Day Weekend is already here to announce the end of the season. Most of the people I know are heading out of town to soak up the last bit of summer; I myself will not miss out on this opportunity either – I am not just going to the beach or sitting by the pool for the long weekend, I am heading out to Southern coast of Turkey for a sailing trip and hop around the Mediterranean islands – life is too short, it’s either go big or go home, right?

I usually don’t mind going bare face when I go for water activities, it’s too much work to keep up with the makeup and prevent the color meltdown anyways.. This time it’s a bit different, since I’ll be on the ocean 24/7, instead of skipping makeup all together, I thought I should make some effort and use waterproof makeup to create the no-makeup makeup look for a change. You never know what handsome sailor will be on the next big yacht cursing by, right?

Since the no-makeup look is the result I’m trying to achieve, I usually apply only some mascara, a touch of eyeliner, and maybe, maybe just a little color on my lips. After a couple test trials by the poolside, here are some of the products that I swear by and will be taking with me on my sailing trip:

 

1). Yves Saint Laurent CILS Waterproof Luxurious Mascara

 ysl-waterproof-mascara-403x420

I’m always a big fan of YSL’s mascaras. I love the volume and lengthening effect it brings to my lashes, and it has a light pleasant rose scent to it, too. This Waterproof Luxurious mascara might look a little too glam for the beach with its gold packaging, but the glam effect on your lashes is definitely something you don’t want to skip out on. It brightens up the whole eye area even without your regular everyday eye makeup.

2). MAC False Lashes Waterproof Mascara

 mac-false-lashes-waterproof-mascara-382x420

Don’t ask me why I bring two mascaras with me on a boat trip. I discovered this mascara more recently, and this is another smudge-free mascara that will last you all day by the water without worrying you’ll look like a big raccoon. It makes my short little lashes pops even when I’m wearing my snorkeling goggles.

3). Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes

s1164565-main-Lhero

For anyone who knows me well knows that I’m a big fan of these eye pencils. They are so easy to control, I can do a simple eye enhancement with a simple stroke, or create a thick wing for dramatic cat eye. It comes in the traditional pencil form which makes it travel friendly, and it stays put on my eyelid no matter how much I sweat in the hot weather or jump in the pool. I use the black one for my everyday city makeup, but I like the Taupe Brown for a more natural look when I’m on vacation. 

4). L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Caresse Wet Shine Stain

 500-1

I got this as a test sample and I am totally in love with this product. Some people doesn’t like the “stain” texture between a lipstick and a gloss, but it doesn’t bother me. It is more like a stain than a gloss on the lips, but it keeps my lips soft and moisturized with a natural hint of color. I use the neutral color to give myself a little boost of color without looking too done up when I’m traveling, and it’s not sticky at all, so you don’t get your hair sticking on your mouth all the time.

 

Last but not least, no matter how near or far you’re going to soak up the Summer warmth, and no matter if you’re makeup is waterproof or not, remember to apply some sunscreen from head to toe, and don’t forget the back of your neck or your ears – those are the little spots that people forget all the time.  Doll up a little bit wherever you are and have a lot of fun. Happy Labor Day Weekend, everyone.

 

Xo,

Alicia