Beauty: Preparing for Spring — 5 All-Purpose Beauty Oil for All People

IMG_4134

It’s been a terrible winter in New York, It’s already mid-March and I am still watching the snow coming down as I type away on the computer by the window. Oh man, I need spring to get here as soon as possible, or else I’ll have to take off and travel somewhere warmer to getaway from this cold weather.

At the end of winter every year, as much as we take good care of ourselves and maintain a solid beauty routine throughout the season, our skin and hair can still tend to appear dryer than we want it to be, and even a little dull after exposing to the bitter cold air and sub-zero wind chills for such a long time.  It’s totally normal and expectable since it’s part of what winter brings, but it doesn’t mean we have to live with it– I mean, who wants dry ad ashy skin when Spring is finally here, right? There are products we can use to give our skin and hair a healthy boost and put back the shine before spring gets here.

I have been on an oil kick since oils made the comeback a couple years ago, instead of using lotions and creams, I have been turning to oils for all my beauty concerns. Oils are great in the sense that they contain a lot of anti-oxidants and vitamins, and can provide direct nourishment without adding any extra burden. Some of the beauty oils are made with beneficial ingredients that are not just good for skin, they can be used on hair too. How can you not love these oils when you can use just one product to pamper yourself from head to toe? Here is the list of 5 All-Purpose Beaut Oils that I like the most:

1). Sans Ceuticals Activator 7 Beauty + Hair + Face Oil

IMG_4155

I discovered this brand on a random occasion, and I have to admit, I bought it because I like the packaging. After I tried it for a while, this oil proved that the product inside does holds up to the appearance. Made in New Zealand, this multi-purpose hair, face and body oil has a high concentration of vitamin A, which is said to stimulate cell repir and improve skin texture. The secret? The Vitamin A in this oil normalizes the skin’s condition while Baobab Phytolipids, Omega 3, 6, and 9 and Vitamin E help treat any damage on the body, including scarring and stretch marks, or dry, split ends in hair. Use it as a spot-treatment throughout the day, or massage into your whole body after the showers. The light fragrance of it is pleasant and comforting, too!

2). Diptyque Paris Precious Oils for Body & Bath

IMG_4154

I love fragrances from Diptyque, they are sophisticated, delicate and never overwhelming. I have a full collection of their fragrances and candles, and when they came out with skin and body product, I just have to get my hands on them.   I love this Precious Oil for Body and Bath, it is a wonderful blend of sweet almond, argan and macadamia oil that melts right on the contact of skin — it leaves the skin incredibly soft and smooth without any greasy residue, and has a the captivating Florentine Iris scent that I just can’t get enough of. I use it on my hair too for a healthy shine, and an extra dose of the incredible fragrance.

3). Between You And The Moon 100% Pure Organic Rosehip Oil

IMG_4151

How can you not love the brand when it has such a beautiful poetic name? Between You And The Moon is a New York skin care brand that focuses on the holistic approach, all the products are made by hand and bottled in small batches to guarantee the quality. Unlike the other oil blends, this beauty oil is made with 100% pure organic rosehip oil, it’s high in omega 3 and 6 fatty acid and natural vitamin C. It improves skin’s overall appearance, but especially in regards to stretch marks, scars and dry patches. The oil resembles our skin’s natural oil, so it glides on smoothly and absorbs instantly without any greasy feelings.

4). Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Purpose Dry Oil

IMG_4152

Maybe it’s because Nuxe is the first dry oil that I fell in love with, I always see it as the queen of dry oils. It is a blend of six precious plant oils (macadamia, hazelnut, borrage, almond, camellia and St. John’s Wort) that is designed to nourish, repairs and softens skin and hair. It’s nourishing but light on the skin, I use it for all seasons. The scent is oh-so-French and addictive, too!

5). Leonor Greyl Huile Secret de Beauté

IMG_4156

I started to use Leonor Greyl’s beauty oil as a hair oil — I love how it protects my hair and gives a heavy dose of nutrient but never weighs it down or feels greasy – and now I’m absolutely hooked and is one of my go-to oils. I take it with me whenever I travel, too! This beauty oil is not just great as a pre-shampoo treatment for hair, it is also a great oil to hydrate and protect the skin in the sun, or whenever you feel you need a little nourishment.

With anyone of these great beauty oils, you should have no problem preparing your skin to transition between winter and spring. They are all multi-purpose that’s good from head to toe, which makes them perfect for traveling as well. Just keep in mind, in order to achieve the best result, exfoliate your skin thoroughly before you apply the oil for it to be absorbed better. I also like to apply on damp skin to seal in a little more moisture. Now we just have to wait for Spring to really arrive!!

Xo,

Alicia