Beauty: 5 Products that Take Care of Your Summer Hair

Summer-Hair

We finally have some beautiful weather in the city in this week, with the sun shining hight and the sky bright and clear with no clouds in sight, gotta love summer time!! Summer always gets me excited, no matter in the city or in the countryside, I just want to stay outdoors and soak up every bit of this beautiful weather when it’s warm outside. During the week when I’m in the city, I’d try to go for a jog after work along the Hudson River… it feels good to have some exercise in the open air. On the weekends, I like to leave the concrete jungle and explore the outdoorsy scenes as much as I can – it can be a hike in the nearby national parks, and maybe find a swimming hold somewhere for a dip, or a trip to the beach and have a few splashes in the Atlantic water! I don’t know if it’s the vitamin D in the sun, or the extra dose of oxygen in the air, or maybe it’s the saltiness in the ocean breeze, spending time outdoors in the summer time definitely lifts the mood and adds a lot of happiness to life.

As much fun as one can get in summer, it is also the season our hair gets abused from all the activities we do — it can come from the long exposure in the blazing hot sun, or the harsh chlorine in the swimming pool, or simply the wash everyday because we just can’t help but sweat in these damn hot days –- sometimes all these summer-ness can really damage the hair and make it dry and frizzy, or sometimes brittle and dull. We really need to take a moment to take care of our summer hair and put the nourishment back!

Instead of going to the hair salon and get some replenishing treatment done professionally, there are some great products available that make it easy for anyone who wants to maintain the health of your hair throughout the season, or reverse the damage that’s already done:

1). Leonor Greyl Huile de Palme Pre-Shampoo Beautifying Oil

leonor-greyl-paris

This is not the first time I write about this product, it’s not hard to see that I’m a big fan of this oil. It is made with natural oils that detangles, softens and protects hair, and because of the pureness of the ingredients, it is safe for the environment too if you’re jumping into the ocean! Just rub the oil into the hair and brush it through for optimal distribution, it will provide protection against the damaging effects of sun, seawater and chlorinated pool water, so you can enjoy your summer activities without worrying about your beautiful strands.

2). WEN by Chaz Dean Sweet Almond Mint Cleansing Conditioner

s856519942242165300_p1_i1_w620

The name of the product can be a little confusing, but it does describe the product precisely – it cleans as a shampoo and it is extremely conditioning as a conditioner. This multitasking “shampoo” is super low-foaming, so it cleans gently without striping your hair dry, and it deeply conditions the hair no matter what your hair type is. It is a true one-step-wonder that actually does the cleaning and also restore all the shine and luster, it leaves hair super soft; it makes me can’t stop touching my hair and doing all the hair flips like I’m in a hair commercial. No wonder this product has a serious cult following.

3). Amika Nourishing Mask

amika-obliphica-nourishing-mask-2-02-oz-3.gif

I’m not usually a mask type of person, I hate to admit this, but I’m too lazy for it…. But every time I get myself to do a mask treatment, I always love how my hair turns out! I like this nourishing mask from Amika, it has natural vitamins and omega acids that deeply nourish and restore the hair without weighing it down. I can see the difference after just one treatment, which makes me think that I should really do masks more often, it is an easy way to give hair its needed attention with an extra boost.

4). Phyto 7 Dry Hair Hydrating Day Cream with 7 Plants

Phyto_7_Hydrating_Day_Cream_With_7_Plants_50ml_1366014204.png

I’m a true believer of leave-in hair conditioners; it is such as easy step to add on to the daily routine that makes a big difference. This Hydrating Day Cream is a great product to keep my hair under control and manageable throughout the season. It is infused with pure and natural plant extracts– it hydrates while preventing frizz and static, and it is lightweight and not greasy or messy at all. It is an easy addition the regular hair care routine if you don’t want to change up the rest of your hair products.

5). Aveda “Sun Care” Protective Hair Veil

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 1.48.20 PM

We all know that too much sun can cause damage to our skin, that’s why we wear sun protections… but most of the time we forget that the hair needs the same attention, too! This Protective Hair Veil is just like a sunscreen for hair, it forms an invisible screen to help protect hair from sun exposure and minimize damage and drying, or even color fading. It’s lightweight and water-resistant, so you don’t have to worry about it if you need to jump in the water to cool off from the heat!

I am lucky to have a full head of healthy hair, but with all the activities throughout the season, the hair can take up some serious damage. All it takes is a little extra care with the right products for prevention and/or restore all the nourishment. I have all five products lined up and ready for summer, so I know my hair is in good hands and they will be shining with all its glory till the end of the season! I hope this helps you with your summer hair care, too!

Happy Summer, y’all!

Xo,

Alicia