Beauty: New Year, New Glow – 7 Products to Help Recover the Damages after the Holidays

Cover Photo.jpg

It feels like it was just last year when I went to Time Square to watch the ball drop and ring in the new era of year 2000, and boom!!… just like that, we already entered year 2016!! Isn’t that wild?! Throughout the 16 years, many things have definitely changed (like I can’t image doing the Time Square thing again), and many things remain the same, like how I still relax really hard during the holiday and the vacation is never long enough.

If I get to go away for the holiday season, it usually means the vacation will involve some ocean or pool, warm sun and blue sky, and lots of excessive eating and drinking. If I stay around in the city, it probably still involves a fair amount of late night outings, and the same amount of excessive eating and drinking. It is all so much fun until I get back to the reality and feel how all the excesses takes a toll on my skin.

Relaxing at the beach or by the poolside is good for the soul but not so much for the skin, as it can get irritated and stressed if it’s overly exposed to salt water or the chlorine in the pool. Same as sun exposure, even with proper sun protections, it is no news that too much sun can cause discoloring and premature aging. For the times I stay local, I may have escaped those damages, but my body probably consumed more sugar, sodium and alcohol than usual with all the champagnes and cocktails I had along with my favorite holiday dishes – the combination not only make me feel bloated, but it can also be dehydrating to the skin and cause dullness in appearance.

Well, not that I would change what I do during my vacation, but in order to do some damage control and bring back the glow for the new year, here are some products I count on to bring my skin back to its healthy condition:

  1. Replenish — Sisley Paris Express Flower Gel Mask 

Sisley Express Flower Gel

This facemask provides an express treatment that refreshes skin in just minutes. The formula is specially designed to target dehydration, loss of elasticity and fatigued skin. The lily and iris extract brings high concentration in moisturizing, and the sesame extract is full of Vitamin F that replenishes and evens out complexion. This cream gel mask is ideal for restoring skin for a well-rested appearance and brings back the life and energy again. Nobody would’ve guessed that you actually had a holiday hangover!

  1. Tone & Calm – Darphin Intral Toner

 Darphine Intra Toner 1.png

This is not my usual daily toner since it is designed for sensitive skin, but it is my go-to when it comes to stressed and fatigued skin after the holidays. The chamomile and peony extract makes this formula extra gentle and calming. As it tones, it decongests, reduces the appearance of redness and helps repair and strengthen skin against irritants. The result: a more comfortable, even-looking complexion that’s refreshed, soothed and beautifully prepped for further treatment.

  1. Bring Back the Light – Ole Henriksen Truth Serum Vitamin C Collagen Booster

Ole Henrikson Truth Serum.jpg

It is essential to feed the skin some needed vitamins if you’ve been up late for parties or spending a lot of time in the sun. I particularly like this serum from Ole Henriksen. It is rich in antioxidant and vitamin C to support natural collagen production, brighten and minimize environmental damage. It’s lightweight and absorbs instantly, leaving skin nourished and it puts the glow back before you know it.

  1. Nourish and Pamper – Revive Moisturizing Renewal Cream

Revive Renewal Cream.jpg

Coming back from a long vacation, I usually like to go for a heavy-duty moisturizer to give my skin the ultimate nourishment. This particular cream from Revive is not like any regular moisturizer, it has a special ingredient called Epidermal Growth Factor (EGF) that gently exfoliates, retexturizes and renews facial skin. It not only provides extra hydration for skin, but also helps diminish imperfections and brings back your pre-party perfect skin.

Facial treatments is just half of the recovery procedure, our body needs the same attention as well:

  1. Soak it off – Obeah La Sirene Mineral Soak

la-sirene.jpg

I don’t get to take bath often enough, but a good bath can be very therapeutic to both our body and mind. I like this Mineral Soak, it contains three different kinds of roses that creates a warm restorative atmosphere while the salt extract the impurities and excess water retention from my whole body. Nothing feels better than leaving the bath feeling lean and clean again.

  1. Give a Polish – Herbivore Coco Rose Coconut Body Polish

 Coco Rose .png

Spending time in the sun makes me happy, but it also makes my skin duller than usual, it always takes a good exfoliation to bring back the natural shine. This Coconut Body Polish is my new favorite all natural product – unlike other salt scrubs, the sugar granules exfoliate gently without irritation, and the virgin coconut oil leaves skin silky soft with just a hint of delicate rose scent.

  1. Replenish – Ritual Mei Dao Body Cream

Ritural.jpg

After a nice bath and a good exfoliation, the pores are open and our skin are prepped, it is the best time to put a blanket of moisturizer to replenish the nutrient it needs. I got this Ritual body cream as a gift, but I am now a true fan of this product. It is rich and creamy but goes on light and never greasy. With Yi Yi Ren (Chinese barley), it hydrates and nourishes skin efficiently in the gentlest way. Plus, the White Lotus scent is slightly addictive as it lingers subtly throughout the whole day.

I love my cocktails by the pool and my sunny vacations, and I know I will be doing the same thing again sooner than later…. As much as I prep my skin before each trip, I still need my recovery products to help me bounce back. Hope you all had a wonderful holiday season, and hope these products can give you a boost on your recovery as well.

IMG_8300.jpg

Xo,
Alicia