Beauty: 5 Beauty Products to Cool You Down In Hot Summer Days

FI_SUMMER.jpg

With the temperature rising to the high 80’s and even 90’s in the past few weeks, we know summer is here in the city in full force. Some of the days, we are lucky to have some nice summer breeze that come through once in a while, which makes the summer heat much more tolerable and enjoyable. On some other days, not only that the hot summer air sits still without any movement, the humidity is high off the chart that makes the air feels soupy and heavy. As much as I enjoy the summer weather, when it comes to those hot and humid days, it is nearly impossible to stay cool outdoors and not become a sweaty sticky mess.

I am sure I’m not the only one with this experience – on a typical hot day, I take my morning shower, go through my daily regular makeup and skincare routine, feeling pretty good as I step out the door, and boom…. Attacked by the heat outside, and then I spend the rest of my commute desperately trying to stay cool so I don’t start sweating and eventually melt down.

As a person who works in the beauty industry, I refuse to let the hot weather ruin my beauty game. Thanks to the beauty god who has heard our constant prayer, and the beauty brands that see the demands in the market, there are some really great beauty products that are designed perfectly for the hot days ahead. With cooling ingredients built in the formula, and with a little help of refrigeration, these products not only help me cool off from the heat temporarily, they also keep skin hydrated and happy. Here are some of the ones I have been trying over the summer and absolutely love:

  1. Milk Makeup Cooling Water

Slide2.jpg

Milk Makeup is a brand designed by the industry insider that knows about fashion and beauty as much as any beauty addicts – so it is no coincident that they come up with this portable cooling product that’s love by all models and fashionistas. Infused with rich marine minerals, this gel stick feels refreshingly cool to the touch and provides an instant boost of moisture. It is also formulated with caffeine, which energizes skin and restore glow. Keep one in the purse and smooth onto face, neck and body whenever you feel the need of an instant cool-off and hydration!

  1. Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Marine Boosting Mist

Slide3.jpg

Using face mists to refresh makeup and cool off from the hot summer heat is nothing new. Currently with the dewy-look trend going on, there are more face mists in the market than we can ever keep up with. I particularly like this multi-functional mist from Tarte – it is a four-in-one primer, makeup setting spray, hydrating mist and skin refresher. The formula is infused with antioxidant and it’s hypoallergenic, just a couple sprays over the whole face help restore skin’s hydration and enhance the natural radiance. If you are wearing makeup, it also helps set the makeup and keep it stay put for the rest of the day. What’s not to love when a product provides so many benefits while it cools you off?

3. Boscia Super Cool De-Puffing Eye Balm

Slide4.jpg

Whenever I feel hot and sweaty, I feel bloated and swollen, even if in real life I look just fine. This cooling eye balm is a godsend especially in these hot summer days – it not just instantly soothes and de-puffs the under-eye area with licorice root extract, it also provides a refreshing tingle sensation upon application that revives and wakes up the most tired eyes. I carry this in my purse and apply as need just to keep my eye game sharp as I keep myself refreshed and cool.

  1. La Roche-Posay Anthelios 30 Cooling Water-Lotion Sunscreen

Slide5.jpg

Wearing sunscreen is a daily must during the summer, and I can’t be happier that there’s an option that relieves on contact. This SPF 30 from La Roche-Posay is a gel-like lotion that spreads on skin like water; unlike the old-school sunscreen that leaves a greasy residue, it gives a cooling and refreshing feeling while it provides broad-spectrum UV protection and hydration. It can be used on face and body, if you don’t already have the habit of using sunscreen everyday, this is definitely a good one to start!

  1. Aesop Petitgrain Reviving Body Gel

Slide6.jpg

It’s hard to stay out of the sun in summer time, even though I already make wearing sunscreen a daily habit, there are still times that I get too much sun and my skin gets dehydrated and flushes in redness. This lightweight body gel is enhanced with Aloe Vera and Panthenol to sooth and hydrate skin from after sun exposure. The simple and pure formula is easy to absorb and helps sooth skin rapidly. With a touch of grapefruit and lemon extract, the scent is just as refreshing and uplifting. I like to keep this body gel in the refrigerator to give an extra coolness when I need it.

I can never get enough of summer weather as long as I don’t turn into a sweaty mess. Instead of carrying a portable fan or personal AC, I will be carrying around these products that cool me down as I keep up with my beauty ritual…. it’s a win-win solution, because there’s no compromising in my beauty game!

Xo,
Alicia