Beauty – Jet Setting Beauty Products that Works In All Weathers

Slide2.jpg

During the holiday season, I took a two-week trip to Southeast Asia to visit some friends and family, and to take a break from the cold weather in the U.S. After almost 20 years in New York area, I still can’t get use to the Northeastern cold conditions and the harsh winters – a trip to the sub-tropical weather in Asia can’t be a better escape during this time of the year.

Packing the right beauty products during traveling is already a challenge itself sometimes, let alone traveling from one climate to another in one trip – the skin is not only dealing the in-flight dry air and the lack of sleep due to drastic time change, it will also face some extreme weather differences. It is important to keep up with products that can protect skin from these environmental shocks, replenish moistures in a timely manor, and keep us look good effortlessly.

From subzero wind chill in New York to the hot and humid tropic, here are some products that tested and approved from my trips:

  1. Kiehl’s Butterstick Lip Treatment SPF 25

Slide3.jpg

Our lips are usually the first ones to sense the dryness in the air. I always make sure I carry a lip balm with me no matter where I go. I got these lip treatments during the holidays and they are now my new favorites. They are made with coconut-based formula that melts right on the lips and keeps them soft without feeling too gooey or greasy. The broad spectrum SPF protects lips from all climates without leaving the awkward ashy white residue. I like the colorless one for in-flight moisturizing or as a base for lipsticks, and I use Naturally Nude or Simply Rose when I need a hint of color on the go.

  1. Embryolisse Lait Crème Concentré

Slide4.jpg

This creamy lotion is known in the makeup artist circle as the perfect priming cream before makeup, as it restore the skin’s natural glow and gives a boost to tired, dehydrated skin in no time. For the same reason, it is actually the perfect cream to have while traveling. The simple formula with Shea Butter and plant extracts nourishes skin from dryness, at the same time, it is absorbed quickly and feels light and breezy especially in hot weathers. During traveling, I apply it every few hours during a long international flight to keep my skin hydrated, or use it as a makeup remover if I want to take off the makeup and give my skin a break.

  1. IT Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC+ Cream with SPF 50+

Slide5.jpg

One of the things I learn from traveling is that if you choose to wear makeup (especially across different climates), choosing products with the right texture is the key– with the wrong products, your skin probably won’t be at its best condition, and the makeup will never last. When going from a dry freezing weather to a hot humid location, this is an extra crucial choice. I love this multi-tasking cream that practically does everything. It is a tinted beauty cream that provides unbelievable coverage that covers up spots, flaws and basically all imperfections. It also acts as an anti-aging serum with hyaluronic acid and vitamins that actually hydrates and nourishes skin. In hot weather when you want to keep things simple, this is perfectly sufficient and convenient to wear it alone. The SPF 50 in the formula takes care of the sunscreen application for you. This cream conveniently comes in travel size, so you can just toss one in your purse and you’re good to go.

  1. RMS Beauty Master Mixer and/or Magic Luminizer

Slide6.jpg

I absolutely love these two products from RMS. The Master Mixer has a beautiful rose gold tone, I dab a thin layer on my cheekbones to give a subtle rosy color and a hint of glow. Pale or tanned in different seasons, this mixer looks good alone as a subtle enhancer, or blended with a little blush. If I want a more highlighting effect instead of color, I use the Magic Luminizer instead. I dab it on the high point of my brow bones and cheekbones, and a little bit on the inner corner of the eyes, it instantly wakes up my whole face no matter how jetlagged I feel. Both products are made with natural ingredients that it melts right into the skin, whatever weather you’re in, they give you the glow without adding any unwanted burden.

  1. Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Tinted Lash Primer

Slide7.jpg

This product is design to be a lash primer, but it is a great alternative for mascara and brow gels while traveling. It has a brown tint that enhances natural lashes – it gives eyes a more defined look when you don’t feel like wearing actual makeup on the plane, and it’s easy to layer with mascara whenever you’re ready for more. I also use the tip of the brush to groom my eyebrows lightly for a more polished look. The gel formula is water-resistant, it’s great for hot humid weather when everything melts of your face, it stays put and keep the lashes in eyebrows in check!

  1. Windle & Moodie Invisible Day & Night Cream

Slide9.jpg

This Day and Night Invisible Cream is the perfect product to have on the go. It protects hair against any form of abrasion – from the change of weather, to combing, and even fraction against the pillow (or airplane seats) while sleeping. The formula also contains an UV filter that protects color-treated hair. The light texture feel weightless on hair yet it soothes and adds a natural luster.

There are plenty of random details that need to be taken care of when traveling, especially when unfamiliar countries or different climates are involved, beauty products should be the last things on your mind. With just the right product choices, it is really easy to pack light, look good AND feel good no matter where you go. Hope this is helpful!

Xo,
Alicia